Darwin Harbour Advisory Committee

The Darwin Harbour region includes Port Darwin and Shoal Bay and covers 3227km of land and water. It extends from Charles Point to Gunn Point including the estuarine areas, tributaries and catchment areas of Cox Peninsula, Woods Inlet, West Arm, Middle Arm, East Arm and the Howard River. The Darwin Harbour Advisory Committee provides advice to the Northern Territory Government through the Minister on the effective management of Darwin Harbour and its catchment to ensure a balance between; sustainable development, a working harbour important to a range of cultural, recreational and economic values, and the protection and maintenance of healthy environments and ecosystems in the harbour and its catchment, now and into the future.

The Committee will:

  • Work with all stakeholders and provide advice on the development of an evidenced-based, integrated research and monitoring (IRM) program for Darwin Harbour to inform sustainable management, protect the aquatic environment, cultural and community values, and identify critical habitats at risk.
  • Work with the Northern Territory Government to provide on-going advice on the IRM program and facilitate the development of an evidence-based annual reporting framework for Darwin Harbour’s aquatic environment.
  • Gather and disseminate information, encourage and support collaboration with key stakeholders including the community, seek feedback on strategic objectives and facilitate leading practice approaches to harbour management.
  • Provide advice to the Minister on issues affecting the integrated management and protection of Darwin Harbour and its catchment, whilst ensuring that environmental and cultural concerns are addressed.
  • Provide advice on matters referred to it by the Minister.

Click here to view the Committee's Terms of Reference

Current Darwin Harbour Advisory Committee Members


Prof Karen Gibb (Chair)

Professor, Charles Darwin University

Mr Nick Hanigan

Development Manager, Paspaley Pearls Properties Pty Ltd

Mr Nigel Browne

CEO, Larrakia Development Corporation

Ms Shar Molloy

Director, Environment Centre of the Northern Territory
Ms Sue McKinnonChairperson, Landcare NT

Mr David Ciaravolo

Executive Officer, Amateur Fisherman’s Association Northern Territory

Mr Jim Smith

Managing Director, Sea Darwin Pty Ltd

Mr Alan Roe

Program Manager, Territory Natural Resource Management

Mr Terry O’Connor

CEO, Darwin Port

Dr Claire Streten

Research Scientist, Australian Institute of Marine Science

Mr Mark Robertson

Government Approvals Manager, INPEX

Ms Trish Rigby

Research and Policy Officer, Northern Land Council

Ms Shenagh Gamble

Manager Climate Change and Environment, City of Darwin

Ms Annie Andrews

Manager of Environment, Power and Water Corporation

Mr Daniel Thompson

Environment Supervisor, Conocco Phillips Australia

The table below has meeting minutes from the Darwin Harbour Advisory Committee meetings

Thursday 24 May 20181st Floor, 76 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Australia Conference Roomminutes (778.7 kb)
Thursday 8 February 2018

City of Darwin, Civic Centre, Meeting, Room 1, 17 Harry Chan Avenue - Darwin

minutes (215.1 kb)
Thursday 26 October 2017Charles Darwin Centre, Level 14, Conference Room, 19 The Mall, Darwinminutes (1.0 mb)
Thursday 17 August 2017Territory Conference Room (NADT), Development House, 76 The Esplanademinutes (856.7 kb)
Friday 14 July 2017Territory Conference Room (NADT), Development House, 76 The Esplanademinutes (795.9 kb)

Last updated: 15 March 2019