Committees and advisory groups

Bushfires NT is supported by the Bushfires Council and Regional Bushfires Council.

The Bushfires Council is a statutory body that has a legislated responsibility to advise the Minister for Environment and Natural Resources on bushfire prevention and control in the Northern Territory. 

Under section 26 of the Bushfires Management Act, members of the Bushfires Council are appointed for a three-year term of office.

The Bushfires Management Act also establishes Regional Bushfire Committees that have a statutory requirement to advise the Bushfires Council on measures to be taken to prevent and control bushfires and likewise to manage bushfires within their gazetted Fire Management Zone. 

Regional Bushfire Committees are a crucial component of the government’s community engagement for bushfire management. To fulfil this obligation it is important to have a strong representation by landholders of the geography and economy of the regions. 

Members are appointed to  Regional Bushfire Committees under section 36 of the Bushfires Management Act.

For more information contact Bushfires NT.

Bushfires Council NT members

Paul BloreChair - Bushfires Council NT
Chris WhatleySavanna Representative
Robert BrightVernon Representative
Walter (Matt) BraitlingDeputy Chairman - Alice Springs Representative
Shaun AnsellIndependent member
Paul SwainNT Fire and Rescue Service Representative
Bruce SawyerPrimary Industry Representative
Dianne TynanMember / President Bushfires Volunteer Association
Garry CookCSIRO Representative
Norm HookerTennant Creek Representative
Todd SmithBureau of Meteorology Representative
Elizabeth (Liz) BirdAlice Springs Representative
Alice BeilbySavanna Representative
Patricia (Trish) Rigby-ChristophersenNorthern Land Council Representative

Last updated: 12 October 2017