Committees and advisory groups

Bushfires NT is supported by the Bushfires Council and Regional Bushfires Committees.

The Bushfires Council is a statutory body that has a legislated responsibility to advise the Minister for Environment and Natural Resources on bushfire prevention and control in the Northern Territory.

Under section 26 of the Bushfires Management Act, members of the Bushfires Council are appointed for a three-year term of office.

The Bushfires Management Act also establishes Regional Bushfire Committees that have a statutory requirement to advise the Bushfires Council on measures to be taken to prevent and control bushfires and likewise to manage bushfires within their gazetted Fire Management Zone.

Regional Bushfire Committees are a crucial component of the government’s community engagement for bushfire management. To fulfil this obligation it is important to have a strong representation by landholders of the geography and economy of the regions.

Members are appointed to  Regional Bushfire Committees under section 36 of the Bushfires Management Act.

For more information contact Bushfires NT.

Bushfires Council NT members


Elizabeth  Bird

Chair Bushfires Council NT

Paul Blore

Deputy Chair Bushfires Council NT

Todd Smith

Bureau of Meteorology

Dianne Tynan

NT Bushfires Volunteer Association

Garry Cook


Mark Spain


Patricia Rigby-Christopherson

Northern Land Council

Benjamin  Kaethner

Central Land Council

Walter Braitling

Southern Member

Ian Stewart

Northern Member

Paul Burke


Karen May

Territory NRM

Joella Nelson

Chair Alice Springs Regional Committee

Alice Beilby

Chair Savanna Regional Committee

Shaun Ansell

Chair Vernon Arafura Regional Committee

Nigel Gellar

Chair Arnhem Regional Committee

Lee Perkins

Chair Barkly Regional Bushfires Committee

Last updated: 08 May 2018